Norway Speedway Internet hosting Stateline Problem Friday Evening

Justin Mondeik is aware of full properly he’ll have his arms full throughout the 38th annual Island Resort & On line casino Stateline Problem/Kent Pearson Memorial offered by Aurora Liquors at Norway (MI) Speedway Friday, July 1.

The Gleason, Wisconsin driver, who’s gained three out of 4 Coca Cola late mannequin options already this yr on the third-mile, paved oval in 2022, has gained the distinguished occasion the previous two seasons. However with a stout area of challengers anticipated, together with former race winner and NASCAR truck champion Johnny Sauter anticipated, Mondeik admits successful the 100-lap characteristic for a 3rd straight yr can be something however a cakewalk. “It is going to be very robust,” Mondeik confessed. “It’s at all times robust to win massive races at any observe and that features Norway.”

Wisconsin racers have had the sting lately with Mondeik successful in ’20 and ’21 and a pair of Sauter’s capturing the massive race in ’18 and ’19 when Johnny and Travis captured the win in these years, respectively. Previous to that Dalton Zehr, who resided in Menominee on the time, gained the Stateline in ’17 with Vulcan’s Kris Kelly being the final Higher Peninsula native to attain the Stateline win in ’16.

Johnny Sauter will as soon as once more wheel the acquainted Coleman Racing Merchandise 119, with Neenah, Wisconsin’s Braison Bennett wheeling the opposite crimson 119. Bennett is the one different driver apart from Mondeik to attain a late mannequin characteristic win at Norway in weekly competitors in ’22.

Different Wisconsin racers anticipated to be contenders throughout the Friday night time present embody 2021 Norway observe champion Chad Butz of Inexperienced Bay, Manitowoc’s Gregg Haese, Appleton drivers Bryan Monday and Brandon Reichenberger, TUNDRA tremendous late mannequin collection standout Darren Jackson of Wisconsin Rapids, Kaukauna’s Will “The Thrill” Timmers, Wausau’s Rayce Haase and Inexperienced Bay’s Louie Goss.

Main the cost from the Michigan aspect of the border are a pair of stout weekly regulars from Kingsford – Jason Wells and Scott Stanchina. As well as, former observe champion Dan Lindsley is trying to preserve the winner’s trophy in state as he’ll have his quantity 79 machine readily available.

Others embody Kingsford native Bruce White, third-generation racer Robby Iverson of Escanaba, Iron Mountain’s Cory Cootware, Waucedah’s Tanner Kelly, Vulcan’s Adam Faull and Dean Varda, Norway’s Joey Pontbriand, John Ostermann and Wyatt Spade, Marquette’s Scott Bolster, Massive Bay rookie Parker Cain and Menominee native Derek Gagne.

The listing of former winners of Norway Speedway’s Stateline Problem reads like a “who’s who” of quick observe racers within the Midwest.

The primary ever race was in 1981 and was gained by quick observe legend Dick Trickle of Wisconsin Rapids, Wisconsin.

A 100-lap tremendous late mannequin characteristic is on faucet. The occasion is offered by Island Resort On line casino and Aurora Liquors. The race additionally serves because the Kent Pearson Memorial. Pearson was a two-time winner of this occasion.

The pit gates open at 10 a.m. Qualifying begins at 5:30 p.m. Racing will get underway at 7 p.m.

Please examine our web site and in addition our web page on Fb for additional data or e-mail

Norway Speedway Stateline Problem Winners

2021 – Justin Mondeik, Gleason, WI

2020 – Justin Mondeik, Gleason, WI

2019 – Travis Sauter Prairie Du Sac, WI

2018- Johnny Sauter, Necedah, WI

2017-Dalton Zehr, Menominee, Mi

2016- Kris Kelly, Norway, Mi

2015- Dalton Zehr, Menominee, Mi

2014- (Tundra Race)

2013- Dillon Kralovetz, Bonduel, WI

2012- Jamie Iverson, Escanaba, MI

2011- Jamie Iverson, Escanaba, MI

2010- No Race

2009- No Race

2008- No Race

2007- Mike Reichenberger, Appleton, WI

2006- Jamie Iverson, Escanaba, MI

2005- Jamie Iverson, Escanaba, MI

2004- Jamie Iverson, Escanaba, MI

2003- Terry Baldry, Omro, WI

2002- Dale Peterson, Escanaba, MI

2001- Mark Schroeder, Inexperienced Bay, WI

2000- Wayne Breitenfeldt, Wausau, WI

1999- Mark Schroeder, Inexperienced Bay, WI

1998- Dale Peterson, Bark River, MI

1997- Terry Baldry, Omro, WI

1996- Kevin Cywinski, Mosinee, WI

1995- Kevin Cywinski, Mosinee, WI

1994- Kevin Cywinski, Mosinee, WI

1993- Matt Kenseth, Cambridge, WI

1992- Bob Menor, Wausaukee, WI

1991- Bob Menor, Wausaukee, WI

1990- Terry Baldry, Omro, WI

1989- Allen Examine, Stevens Level, WI

1988- Dick Trickle, Wisconsin Rapids, WI

1987- Scott Hansen, Inexperienced Bay, WI

1986- Scott Hansen, Inexperienced Bay, WI

1985- Mike Mattson, Marquette, MI

1984- Mike Kelly, Norway, MI

1983- Kent Pearson, Kingsford, MI

1982- Kent Pearson, Kingsford, MI

1981- Dick Trickle, Wisconsin Rapids, WI


Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.